Stepping onto the Road

It’s a dangerous business, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no telling where you might be swept off to.      ~ Bilbo Baggins

Every decision presents a turn on the road of your life.  Sometimes you make a turn without realizing it.  But sometimes you see an intersection coming and you have to figure out which way to go.  You research and soul-search and pray and hope you turn the right way.  And then you turn.  Whichever way you turn, a new road lies before you… and there’s no telling where it might lead.  But it’s not enough to look at the road.  You have to step out onto it.

Our decision to follow the GAPS diet was a turn on the road.  Six weeks ago, when I started this blog, we were standing at the intersection, scared to step onto the road.  Scared to commit to so big a change.  We decided maybe we would ease toward it, slowly integrate the changes.  But you can’t really “ease” yourself onto a road.  It’s like walking with one foot on the pavement and one foot in the ditch.  It’s uncomfortable.  You can’t walk that way for very long.  At some point, you just have to get up on that road and walk on it.

Knowledge is a dangerous thing.  It changes you.  And armed with our newfound knowledge of the human body, thanks to Gut and Psychology Syndrome, we couldn’t walk halfway on the road.

I started out thinking I would just add a few grain-free things here and there.  Maybe start making breakfast once in awhile instead of feeding the kids cereal every day.  You know, small changes.  But I cringed every time I gave them a slice of bread, a cup of milk, a bowl of cheerios.  I knew what these foods would do in their damaged guts.  I couldn’t in good conscience continue to feed my family that way.

So both feet were on the road.  We kind of went cold turkey.  I started making every meal GAPS legal to the best of my ability.  Now, we weren’t 100% right off the bat.  Our condiments still had sugar in them.  A snack here and there would have an illegal ingredient.  But we cut out the big stuff pretty much all at once.  As we ran out of mik, cereal, bread, it wasn’t replaced.

My children did not appreciate this.  The Princess asked for macaroni & cheese almost every day, which is funny because we very rarely ate mac & cheese anyway.  The Stubborn Buffalo went on a little strike at every meal.  He went hungry a few times but now at least tries things.  Zanna Banana begged for cheerios for over a week but finally stopped asking.  Curly Girl asked for Chex the first day after we ran out, but hasn’t since then.  As long as there is something for breakfast she’s okay with it.  We have tried to explain things to them, but I’m not sure they really grasp the full reality of it yet.  We’re working on it.

Radio Dad, though completely on board, struggled with snacking.  He has a quick metabolism and has to eat every couple of hours.  He used to reach for toast with cinnamon sugar, cookies, brownies, crackers… especially Wheat Thins!  He’s a recovering Wheat Thin addict… 😉  It took awhile for him to come up with quick & easy snacks, but he has created a few favorites like walnut smoothies!  I might start calling him Blender Dad…

I started down the road with great gusto, excited to try new recipes!  I had a few uninspired days where I had no idea what I would make.  But the new routine is starting to sink in.  I am exploring how many different meals you can make with just broth and vegetables.  I am learning how different types of nuts behave in recipes.  I am discovering just how many foods my children will actually eat!  (Cauliflower?  Hard-boiled eggs?  Who knew?!)  And I am always, always planning ahead.  Meal planning has been my saving grace this past month.  I must remember to make the broth, thaw the meat, bake the muffins.  If I do, all flows smoothly.

Overall, it has been a good turn for us.  We are already seeing some results,which I will detail next time!

Leave a Reply

