Grain Free Breakfast: Fried Eggs & Sweet Potato Hash

20130624-153829.jpg

Breakfast has been difficult for me as I try to return to Paleo. Our time on GAPS left me with a hatred of scrambled eggs because I ate them almost every day. For nearly six months, I could not stomach the thought of eating eggs for breakfast. During those six months, I ate oatmeal, grain free or gluten free waffles, maybe granola.

Obviously, a lot of grains had taken over breakfast around here. I had to cut them out but wasn’t sure what to eat instead. Grain free granola is expensive and too many nuts isn’t ideal either. Having baked goods like muffins every morning is a bad habit to get into. Even grain free muffins usually have a good amount of sweetener. I eat Greek yogurt sometimes, especially with peanut butter mixed into it, and that’s not too bad. But many mornings found me standing in the kitchen with a banana, eating it with peanut butter straight from the jar, because I was too tired to do anything else.

I know eggs are a nutritional powerhouse, so I wanted to figure out some way to tolerate them for breakfast. Enter the sweet potato. I had a baked sweet potato in the fridge and I thought just maybe it would temper the eggs and make something yummy. This is what I came up with. It was pretty quick to put together and it made eggs palatable again!

Fried Eggs with Sweet Potato Hash

Bacon grease, as much as desired
1/2 small onion, chopped
1/2 baked sweet potato, chopped into 1/2 inch chunks
Handful of greens – I used baby bok choy from my garden
2 eggs
Real salt & black pepper

Heat the bacon grease in a small skillet. Add the onion and cook until soft. Add sweet potato and let it cook for a couple of minutes to start to brown. Flip sweet potatoes and add greens. Place a lid on the skillet to steam the greens. This will only take 2-3 minutes, tops. Remove the vegetables to a plate. Add more bacon grease or butter to the skillet and crack the eggs carefully into the hot pan. I like to cook these on a high flame. It helps cook the white quickly without the yolk cooking too much. When the eggs are done to your liking, place them on top of the vegetables. Sprinkle on some salt & pepper. Enjoy!

I like to break the egg yolks and spread them all over so every bite gets some delicious yolk. Yum!

This post is part of Well Fed Wednesday over at Well Fed Homestead!

2 thoughts on “Grain Free Breakfast: Fried Eggs & Sweet Potato Hash

  1. Pingback: Weekend Warp-Up 6/30 | The Well Fed Homestead

Leave a Reply

